When I’m among Music and Kindly Books


When I’m among music that holds me late
Dawdling through dance delights
I dream of a firelit inglenook
With candles burning straight
A yellow blaze of lights
Of glowing stars and kindly books

With living pictures in the gloom
A woman’s heart turns back from stone
Liberated in that small cozy room
Heartbeats start again as imagination is seen and sewn

As if I’m alone in garden nights
With elm trees nodding at my thoughts
In my mind’s eye I see these sights
Like inkblots over crowded nightspots

©RedCat


I really should be going to bed. Instead I could not keep myself from writing. For weeks now comparative literature has kept me mired in lyric poetry. From Sapfo to the postmodernist, without having any time to write all that they inspire in me. So this prompt just lit a spark that refused to be ignored.

Poetics at dVerse tonight is called, Dead Poets Society. Our gracious host mentions a BBC Maestro poetry course, written by Carol Ann Duffy. Who she quotes: 

“dead poets speak to us across time through their poems,
and they particularly speak to other poets”,
adding “who often choose to respond across time”.

The task is to read three poems, choose one, and respond to it. My writing itch was tickled by – When I’m among a Blaze of Lights by Siegfried Sassoon 1886 (Matfield, Kent) – 1967 (Heytesbury, Wiltshire)


Sassoon photographed in 1915 by George Charles Beresford found on Wikipedia

Image credits:
Photo by Taylor Wright on Unsplash
Photo by Emil Widlund on Unsplash


9 thoughts on “When I’m among Music and Kindly Books

Add yours

    1. Thank you! It felt good to take the time to write driven by inspiration as opposed to “for an assignment”.

      When I found the picture I thought that it had to be my favourite library and study spot. And I’m sure it is even if the description was only “books” 😊

  1. Welcome back to the Poets Pub, and what a way to return, with a stunning response to the Sassoon poem! I’m so glad my prompt lit a spark for you! Music and kindly books is all the brain and body need, in my mind, and I love the whole of this poem. I like the way you juxtapose staying up late dancing and reading in a firelit inglenook, put them side by side, where they should be. I love the alliterative ‘dawdling through dance delights’ and the warm, fuzzy feelings I get from these lines:
    ‘A woman’s heart turns back from stone
    Liberated in that small cozy room
    Heartbeats start again as imagination is seen and sewn’.
    And that final line: ‘inkblots over crowded nightspots’!

  2. I have been at the pub for long and have not read your work here before and what I really like is the straightforward tone and words which gently deliver the deeper, subtle sentiments…
    And what a beautiful library!

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑