No Bother! – A Quadrille


Why do you bother with all those poetic forms?
With feets and meters?
Syllable and word count?
Rhyme and rhythm?
With inventing nonce forms?

Because I love to play with words!
Making them dance.
Letting meaning between the lines shine.

That’s passion! Not bother!

©RedCat

I’ve gotten asked these questions again today for the umpteenth time. So it was already swirling in my mind.
Next time I’ll direct the asker to this post! 

Written for tonight’s Quadrille prompt over at dVerse.


Read other Quadrilles by me here.


17 thoughts on “No Bother! – A Quadrille

Add yours

  1. You know I love this! 💝💝 There are so many people who fail to comprehend that poetry, that trying out different forms is indeed a passion that drives us.

  2. I had a novelist friend tell me she thought poets were too bound by rules; I wish I’d had your quadrille to answer her! Truly, it’s no bother!

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑