Word Salad – April Ekphrastic Challenge

Old lady who’s homeless who goes into spoons for a coffee every night by John Law

The lad was sad, so sad
Because vegetables was all he had
Grow on the sill to his tiny pad

He wished, oh how he wished
He had some coin for meat or fish
Something to make a filling dish

But his mind was set, firmly set
He would give something to the homeless old lady he’d met
She smiled like his nan and called him pet

So he gave her a salad to eat
Then offered his bed, so she wouldn’t sleep on the street
Don’t want to burden, she said, but thought him sweet, so sweet

©RedCat

Salad by Kerfe Roig

I really felt devoid of inspiration yesterday. Nothing came to me, so what did I do?

I started with the salad picture, listing what I imagined I saw. I mean is it a cucumber or a zucchini? Small tomatoes or radishes? I decided upon salad of some sort, cucumber, sweet peppers and radish. Then I started rearranging the letters in each word to see which words I could find. Then I let that list of words stew in my mind as I went to dance class.

On my way there I was one of the people who alerted the staff in the local traffic about a passed out homeless guy, who looked like he could use medical attention.

When I came home I wrote the poem above. Which made me quite sad to tell the truth.
I wish, oh how I wish, that solving the problems for homeless people were as easy as writing a poem.


To see all art and read all poems for today go to The Wombwell Rainbow.


John Law

“Am 68. Live in Mexborough. Retired teacher. Artist; musician; poet. Recently included in ‘Viral Verses’ poetry volume. Married. 2 kids; 3 grandkids.”
Kerfe Roig

A resident of New York City, Kerfe Roig enjoys transforming words and images into something new.  Her poetry and art have been featured online by Right Hand PointingSilver Birch PressYellow Chair ReviewThe song is…Pure HaikuVisual VerseThe Light EkphrasticScribe BaseThe Zen Space, and The Wild Word, and published in Ella@100Incandescent MindPea River JournalFiction International: Fool, Noctua Review, The Raw Art Review, and several Nature Inspired anthologies. Follow her explorations on her blogs, https://methodtwomadness.wordpress.com/  (which she does with her friend Nina), and https://kblog.blog/, and see more of her work on her website http://kerferoig.com/

April Ekphrastic Challenge – GloPoWriMo 2021

2 thoughts on “Word Salad – April Ekphrastic Challenge

Add yours

  1. I like the images and love what you wrote about them, Helene, and that it is connected to real events in your life. I would have started with the salad image too – salad is my favourite food – and I am fond of Kerfe’s work. It is a sad poem, with a side salad of kindness.

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑