It’s Springtime Again – A Folk Song (with Audio), April Ekphrastic Challenge

Green Man – John Law

Seasons they come, and seasons they go
There’s no need to shed tears for summer
She’ll come come back again, when the flower moon glow
And we’ll dance to magic midsummer

It’s springtime again
It’s springtime again
The green man has brought it back to us
Trees budding again
Grass growing again
Time to plant seeds and be joyous

Seasons they go, and come back again
Though we might forget during winter
But soon there once more be sun in the glen
And we’ll fill the forest with laughter

It’s springtime again
It’s springtime again
The green man has brought it back to us
Trees budding again
Grass growing again
Time to plant seeds and be joyous

©RedCat

It’s Spring Time Again sung acapella by RedCat

For some reason after reading up on the Green Man I started to think about folk songs and ballads. And one in particular started playing in my head – In folk song tone (I Folkviseton) by Nils Ferlin, a poet who I sang long before I read. It’s a well known love song.

So, I ended up writing a poem that is set to the same tune as Ferlin’s poem. And then making an acapella recording of it. :-)

I’ve had similar ideas befor, but this is the first time I actually managed to pull it together. Which makes me very happy and proud indeed. Maybe someday I will actually reach that elusive song writer place.
To see all art and read all poetry for today go to The Wombwell Rainbow.


Also shared with Open Link Night at dVerse.


John Law

“Am 68. Live in Mexborough. Retired teacher. Artist; musician; poet. Recently included in ‘Viral Verses’ poetry volume. Married. 2 kids; 3 grandkids.”

April Ekphrastic Challenge – GloPoWriMo 2021

31 thoughts on “It’s Springtime Again – A Folk Song (with Audio), April Ekphrastic Challenge

Add yours

  1. Helene, I like the promise of the words in the poem. To hear them put to the hypnotic rhythm of the melody really brings them to life. I love to see your creative spirit flying free <3

    1. Thank you! ❤️ I really loved doing it, so there will probably be more song as time goes by. It feels like I’ve passed some kind of threshold where things I wouldn’t have previously dared to do is just the next step on the journey. 😀

  2. This is so beautiful and haunting, Helene – it brought tears to my eyes! The melody is reminiscent of medieval folk songs I have heard, and the lyric is so reassuring, I imagine a mother singing it to her children :-) Thank you for putting this beautiful post together and sharing it with dVerse!

    1. Thank you Ingrid! ❤️ I wanted to keep to the feel of the original even if I changed subject from love to spring. Emotional and soothing. I’ll see if I can find a good translation of the original. I’m humbly grateful that I managed to do it justice.
      Many old Swedish folk songs have that medieval touch to them, perhaps because the song tradition here goes back to medieval times and beyond.
      I’m blown away with a kind comments. I haven’t sung publicly in twenty years or so. So there where some nerves involved. ☺️

Leave a comment

Website Built with WordPress.com.

Up ↑